Michigan Association of Neurological Surgeons - Officers

Jason Heth, MD

Dr. Jason Heth is a faculty member at the University of Michigan. Dr. Heth specializes in skull base tumors, brain tumors and complex cranial reconstruction. Dr. Heth also does research into the treatment of gliomas and brain metastasis. Dr. Heth lives with his wife in Ann Arbor.

University of Michigan

1500 E. Medical Center Drive
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
(248) 936-7010

Sandeep Mittal, MD, FRCSC, FACS
Vice President

Dr. Mittal is Chair of the Department of Neurosurgery at Wayne State University and Neurosurgeon-in-Chief at the Detroit Medical Center and Karmanos Cancer Institute. His areas of expertise are in the surgical management of patients with medically-refractory epilepsy and those with complex brain tumors located in eloquent brain regions (e.g. motor cortex, speech and language centers). He is the Co-Director of the Wayne State University/Detroit Medical Center Comprehensive Epilepsy Center, and the Director of the Multidisciplinary Neuro-Oncology Program at the Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute.

Dr. Mittal’s prominent clinical presence reinforces his commitment to maintain an active research program. He is director of the NIH-funded Translational Neurosurgery Research Lab. An accomplished educator and well-funded research scientist, Dr. Mittal has authored over 100 peer-reviewed manuscripts and book chapters. He is a fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons of Canada and the American College of Surgeons.

Wayne State University/Detroit Medical Center

4160 John R.
Suite 930
Detroit, MI 48201
(313) 966-5007

Hazem Eltahawy, MD


Dr. Eltahawy is the Chief of Neurosurgery and Director of Neuroscience service at St Mary Mercy Hospital in Livonia ,Michigan. He specializes in complex spinal surgery, interventional pain management and functional neurosurgery.

Dr. Eltahawy completed his neurosurgery residency and fellowships at Ain Shams University, Egypt, Queen Square, London, UK, U of Toronto, Canada and Wayne State U, Detroit-Michigan.  Prior to moving to St Mary Mercy Hospital, he served as faculty at Wayne State University for 12 years training neurosurgery residents in techniques of spinal surgery and was the former Associate Chair of the Wayne State University Department of Neurosurgery between 2015-2017.
He was selected among Detroit Hour Top Docs, Best Doctors and Best Surgeons in America for several years.

Robert R. Johnson, MD
Immediate Past-President

Dr. Johnson is a staff neurosurgeon with the MHSI Michigan Head & Spine Institute, PC as well as the chief of neurological surgery at Sinai-Grace Hospital in Detroit. Dr. Johnson specializes in general neurosurgery with a concentration in surgical procedures in the treatment of epilepsy. He was recently selected to participate in advanced epilepsy research. Dr. Johnson will focus on the surgical removal of the lesions known to cause epilepsy. Research has found that surgical removal or placement of a vagal nerve stimulator is superior to drug treatment in some types of epilepsy.

Michigan Head & Spine Institute

29275 Northwestern Hwy. Suite 100
Southfield, MI 48034

Address: 4160 John R. Street | Suite 930 | Detroit, MI 48201

Phone: 313.745.4767

Email: Vicki Diaz, vdiaz@med.wayne.edu

           Erin Brede, eep@anchoreventsanddesign.com

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software